International Boxing Organization
International Boxing Organization
Edward S. Levine
John Daddono
Chairman, Championships Committee
Jeremy D. Levine
Vice President
Robert Balogh
Vice President
Hilton Whitaker, III
Vice President IBO
U.S.B.O. President
Andre VanGrootenbruel
Vice President, Europe
Jorge M. Alonso
Vice President, Latin America
Len Hunt
Vice President, Africa
Steve Scott
Vice President, Asia Pacific
Maria Canizares
President's Assistant
Frank Brunette
Chairman, Official's and Grievance Committee
Gregory Reed, M.D.
Medical Advisor
Eric D. Plescow
Executive Assistant
John McDonald
U.K. Press Representative
Vuyani Bungu
Special Ambassador - Africa
Fight Commissioners:
Garry Dean
Chuck Giampa
Frank Hadley
Gary Ingraham
Andile Matika
Ramiro Ortiz
Charlie Payne
Kiate Sirigul
Peter Zamoyski
Benedetto Montella

Edward B. Raduns


Jackson Asiku Wins Ugandan Award

December 9, 2009

Australian-based Ugandan International Boxing Organisation (IBO) featherweight champion Jackson Asiku has been voted Uganda's 2009 sports personality of the year.

The award was granted to him by the Uganda press sports association, USPA, on Tuesday.

"We voted him because he recently took the IBO featherweight title after knocking out Mexican Heriberto Ruiz in the eighth round in Sydney Australia," said USPA official John Mukasa.

He said they would invite him to Uganda to officially receive the title.

Asiku is a Ugandan who has lived in Australia for over a decade.

Return to previous page

   International Boxing Organization, 340 Minorca Ave. Coral Gables, FL 33134
(305) 446-0684   Fax: (305) 446-2973   Website:   E-Mail:

Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use

   Copyright © 2013 IBO. All Rights Reserved.

  Web design & development by AdServices Inc.